Information on the Internet

Digital Security is defined as “The precautions that all technology users must take to guarantee their personal safety and the security of their network.” (Laub, 2013) I think that people should be allowed to know when there is a digital security failure. If it is their information being leaked then they have every right to know what is going on.

I believe that as a consumer we have every right to know if our ‘private’ information has been accessed. Even if it is the smallest amount of information I believe that we have every right to know. It is personal information and we need to be aware of what is going on. According to an article it says, “If a person or an organization holds personal information about you then you have rights under the Privacy Act.” (“Official information: Your,”)

I am less likely to shop online now knowing how easily our information can be accessed. It is not worth having to deal with all of that. I did not realize that our information can be easily accessed and that we are not always notified when something like that happens. In order for me to change my opinion I would have to get proof that the information that I am sharing when online shopping is not being shared. I would like to know that it is being only used for what I am buying and not for other reasons.

Laub, J. (2013, December 08). Dig security. Retrieved from http://digitalcitizenship.asb-wiki.wikispaces.net/Dig Security

Official information: Your right to know. (n.d.). Retrieved from http://www.justice.govt.nz/publications/global-publications/o/official-information-your-right-to-know

Leave a Reply

